F-704K Upright Cap Strips (2/17/13)

1.8 Hours –

Although I had the time, today wasn’t a big airplane day.  I was lacking motivation to work on the airplane, or do just about anything else.  All in all, a pretty lazy day.

The section of hinge on the bottom of the seat backs still needed to be riveted.  Now that I knew the seats fit well, I could go ahead and rivet the hinge.  All of these rivets could be squeezed, so it didn’t take much time to complete.

I’m at the point now where I don’t necessarily go step by step in the instructions.  For one, the instructions have become incredibly vague.  In addition, I like to tailor my work to what I think I will have time to finish.  Now, I simply look at what parts I have remaining, and then decide what I want to work on for the day.

Today, I decided to work on the F-704K upright cap strips.  These pieces cover up the gap between the vertical sections of the F-704 bulkhead.  The left F-704K fit perfectly, but the right needed a little trimming because part of the canopy deck flange interfered.  Once the parts were clecoed on, I simply final-drilled them and then took them off for deburring, priming, and paint.  The F-782 cover plates also needed to be painted, so I quickly completed the deburring that needed to be done on those so they could be painted at the same time as the F-704Ks.

The right F-704K vertical cap strip fit to the F-704 bulkhead.

The right F-704K upright cap strip fit to the F-704 bulkhead.

More priming and painting.  Here the F-704K upright cap strips and the F-782A cover plates have been primed.

More priming and painting. Here the F-704K upright cap strips and the F-782A cover plates have been primed.

, , , , , , , , ,